Darfield Council 3   Swinton Fitzwilliam 2

Darfield winners
Back Row (L to R): Kidd; Dave Vizard; Derek George; Gordon MacDonald; Jim Levitt ; Tommy Marshall; Mr Kilner (Head); Alan Brown. Front Row (L to R): Dave Lumb; Alan Bradley; Graham Gibbs; Keith Ormrod; John Slater; Stewart Chambers.

Darfield Council 3 Tommy Marshall, Stewart Chambers, Dave Lumb
Fitzwilliam 2 Melvyn Blunn 2

Fitzwilliam team: Malcolm Banks, Robert Blaydes, Keith Pope, Tony Airey, Charlie Watson, Pete Raynor, Melvyn Blunn, David Hall, Ron Clarke, Norman Adey, David Hilton

Dave Vizard I’m certain the 1962 winners were Darfield Snape Hill, I played in that side, we beat Bolton Carrfield 3-2 at the Houghton Main ground at Middleclough after beating Swinton Fitzwilliam In the semis on the same ground. It was my final year at that school before moving up to Barnsley Grammar aged 11, I was born in 1951 . The two opponents might be the other way round but am fairly sure have got them the right way. The names I remember and apologies to anyone I’ve forgot; Derek George, Jim Levitt, Gordon McDonald, Tommy (Tucker) Marshall, Keith Ormrod, Graham Gibbs, Stewart Chambers, John Slater and Alan Bradley. I remember in the dressing room before the final at Middlecliffe, we were told our headmaster Mr. Kilner was retiring so we had to make sure we won for him and after the match someone produced a big cake for us ( so somebody was confident). We won all our league games that season but lost our last match (some kind of cup) 4-0 to I think Highfield of Wombwell or maybe Highgate at Goldthorpe, the match being played on the Darfield Foulstone field on Nannymarr Road in Darfield.

Carrfield: credit Susan Brammah Lapornik

No evidence of Wath Central winning the cup, but they will have played in the earlier rounds…

Wath Central no evid
Wath Central : BACK ROW: Mr. Hubbard (Headmaster & Football League linesman), Bobby Kerr, Brian Clamp, Billy Marshall, Johnny Copley, Martin Hall, Mr. Malyan MIDDLE ROW: Michael Taylor, Philip “Flopsy” Hobson, Martin Boothroyd?, Alan Whitehead, David Richardson, Harry Parkes, Brian Stocks FRONT ROW: Malcolm Salt, Ronnie Hitchenor, Glynn Jones, Alan Cowles, David Corns, Graham Warren, Steve Bailey

Wath Central

Houghton Raod
Houghton Road, Thurnscoe:  Alan Martin back row next to John Ellis goalie, John’s next to Graham Asquith,
Goldthorpe J I
Goldthorpe Juniors
Schofield Street

Roman Terrace

No match report found as yet.  Any details (eg. Scorers or photos) please send to brookchris@talk21.com and I will add these to the site.

If you have anymore information on this final, or previous rounds, please fill in the Contact Form below.

Leave a Reply