Darfield Council 3  Darfield C of E  1  

Played at Darfield Foulstone on Fri 20th May . Match report :  SYT 21/5/55

darfield council treble winners 1954 1955 season
First names: Tony Kay, Barry Wagstaff, Alan Wilkinson, Tony Wagstaff, Jeff Copeland, Greg Jones,

Fred Buckley, Colin Moore , Tony Kaye, David Scott, Royden Jones, Barry Wagstaffe, Jeff Jones, George Jones, Tony Wagstaffe , Brian Ward, Jeff Copeland , John Davis.
Most of them.

and the runners-up….

darfield church of england school runners up 1954 1955
First names: Gordon Senior, John Stocks, Glynn Naylor, David Ogley, John Pickerill, Melvyn Higginbottom and Dennis Marrow.

Glynn Naylor, Malcolm Wilson, John Wilkinson, Melvyn Higgingbottom. Dennis Marrow

Semi Finals

Darfield NP? 1  Denaby Main 0 – Report SYT 30/4/55
Darfield CP 2  Hoyland Market St 1 –  Report  SYT 7/5/55

Quarter Final

Darfield CP 1  Swinton Bridge 0 – Report SYT 30/4/55

Earlier Rounds

Wombwell Highfield 4 Hoyland C 0 –  Green ‘un29/1/55
Darfield C of E 2 Roman Terrace 1
–  Green ‘un29/1/55
Denaby Main 9  Kilnhurst C of E 0
–  Green ‘un29/1/55
Wombwell Park St. 2 Houghton C 0
–  Green ‘un – 12/2/55
Wombwell Highfields 0 Darfield C of E 4 –  Green ‘un2/4/55  SYT 9/4/55
Darfield CP 3?  Birdwell 2  – SYT – 2/4/55
Hoyland Market St 3 Mexborough Schofield St. 1  – Report SYT 9/4/55
Darfield CP 3  Thurnscoe Hill 1Report SYT 9/4/55
Hoyland Market St 3 Wath Victoria 0
Swinton Bridge 2  Bolton 0
Mexborough St. Johns 1 Hemingfield Ellis 4
Conisbrough Morley Place 6 Brampton 0

Danny Roydon Jones:  I played in the Totty Cup final for Darfield C.P. Junior School and have a winners certificate for the 1954-1955 season. I remember the presentation when Members of Barnsley Football club attended and signed the reverse of the certificate. One of the  signatures is Tim Ward which I think was the manager of Barnsley. We also won the Junior football league in the same season and were also presented with certificates also signed.  I can only remember 2 team mates one  was Tony Wagstaffe as you know turned pro. and played for Sheffield United. I think the other one I can remember was Alan Wilkinson. 

This team also included John Davies; George Jones; Geoff Jones; Tony Wagstaff; A Warin; Tony Kay; Fred Buckley; Brian Ward

totty cup page 1955 signatures
Hat-trick hero – Danny Roydon Jones

john wilkinsons totty cup cert

Runners Up certificate.  John Wilkinson.


no evidence of win
Thurnscoe Hill – knocked out by eventual winners, Darfield CP.

Possibility that Phil Salkeld played in the final this year for Fitzwilliam (unsure of the year)

Rosehill: Bobby Murfin, Paul?? Schofield, Alan Banks, Alan Marriott, Stephen Vaughan, Melvin Scothern, Dave Whitworth. “Toddy” Whiting, ? Blyton, Robin Naylor, “Sugar” Turner, Geoff Bott, Keith Dyson, Les Swales.
Rawmarsh Monkwood
Swinton Bridge Staff (L to R): Bill Payne; Mr. Balding Back Row (L to R): Graham Marks (possibly) ,Peter Cane,?,?,?,?,David Smeaton,? Front Row (L to R): ?,?,?,Alan Clifford, Philip Greenfield,?,? Seated (L to R): ?,?
Bolton CP (became Lacewood):
Front Row (L to R): : Law; F2, F3, Joe Willcock, F5, F6, F7
Middle Row (L to R): M1, M2, M3, M4, M5
Teachers: Mr Sale & Mr Hurry
Students on the Back Row (L to R): B1, B2, B3, B4
Balby St

Thurnscoe Houghton Road
LtoR Top Row. Alan Walton Barry Morris Terry Wright Alan Appleyard Dave Hopps Tony Orrel?
LtoR Bot Row. Rob Middleton Brian Turner Barry Humble (Capt) John Humble? John Westgarth
Credit: Mandy Brinkley

If you have anymore information on this final, or previous rounds, please fill in the Contact Form below.  

Leave a Reply