Mexborough Schofield Street 3 Darfield CP 0

Not in order: Gerald SKELTON, Cliffiord PEARSON, Christopher GODDARD,
Darfield Runners Up
RUNNERS UP: DARFIELD VALLEY: TOP ROW L-R Geoff Goldthorpe (inside right) – Steve Bell (Left Wing) – (Alan Dunne Teacher) Tony Hare (GK) – Les Parkinson (Left back) – Alan George (sub) FRONT ROW L-R Tony Stevenson (Right Wing)- Russel Lawson (right half back) – Ernie Wright (Centre half)- Stephen Kay (inside left) – Martin Fieldhouse (right half) – Pete Briggs (half back)- Jimmy Tingle (right back) Credit: Jimmy Tingle & S. Kay
Losing Semi-finalists, Highgate. Back row (L to R): Steve Nowells, Pete Kerley, John Morris, Mr Lobley, Bri Batty, Ray Boreham, Ivan Jones
Front row (L to R): Steve Adsetts, Bri Tinnion, Alan Phillips, Bri Deakin, Eric Dawson, Dennis Marsh, David Marsh CREDIT: Neil Boreham

Darfield CP won the Popple Shield – a new trophy for the runner-up donated by Mr. E. B. Popple, the headmaster at Mexborough C of E school.


Goals in the final:  Goddard 2, Gardner

Darfield CP 3 Conisbrough Balby Street   0
Goals :  Kay 3  Report at 25/4/64
Mexborough Schofield Street 2  Highgate CP 1
Goals :  MSS:  Goddard, Cornwall  HCP:  Dawson  Report at 2/5/64
Earlier Rounds:
Darfield County Primary 1  Hemingfield Ellis 0
Goal:  Stevenson
Mexborough Schofield Street 2  Wath central 0
Goals:  Goddard 2
Highgate beat Denaby Main
Wombwell Highfields 1  Conisbrough Balby Street 3
Goals:  WH:  S. Marshall  CBS: Wood, Peart 2 (1 x penalty)
Darfield CP beat Wombwell St. Johns

Reports buried in the articles at https://dondearneschoolfootball.wordpress.com/1963-64/


carrfield no evid
Not the winners, but they no doubt featured in the competition, Carrfield (credit: Angela Lockwood)….

Bolton CP no evidence
Bolton CP
(Left to right) tom grierson ray jow Melvin selkald mr Thompson mr sales John Thompson pete Wilson Stewart Wake front left to right colin scattergood Dave Daviesken Wilson phil Simmonds Shaun queerly forgot mally parr thanks to Colin Scattergood.
conisbrough station road - yet to upload
Conisbrough Station Road. Top. Mr Marshall Mr Barker Mr Haigh. Second Row. Alan Cooper, Peter Godfrey, Owen Pitman, David Ames, David Chadwick. Bottom Row. Mick Trench, David Groves, Kenny Booker, Tony Shelton, Alan Sunderland, Baz Woodward, Peter Smith.
swinton bridge
Swinton Bridge
Teachers (L to R) : Mr. Payne, Mr. O. Jones
Back Row (L to R) : Eric Hampshire; John Venables, Brian Hughes, Martin Andrews, Phillip Goss, Peter Oliver, Steve Middleton.
Middle Row (L to R) : George Staniforth, Trevor Mallinder, Stephen Young, Michael Carter, Loz Beckitt, Frank Claydon, Mick Pearce
Front Row (L to R): David Newton, Geoff Gill
Morley Place : Back Row (L to R): Michael Sutton; Peter Thompson; Richard Cocksedge; Mr. Roberts; Brian Gough; Robert White; Colin Chandler
Front Row (L to R): Richard Horrocks; Malcom Davies; Raymond Whitehead; F4; George Smith CREDIT: Richard Horrocks

There was a photograph of Monkwood from 1964 supplied by Jim Oldfield – but it seems to have disapperaed.

If you have anymore information on this final, or previous rounds, please fill in the Contact Form below.

2 thoughts on “1964

Leave a Reply