Lacewood 3 Thorogate 2

Lace after
Ryan Hallsworth’s Lacewood – Winners 2019 Photo:  Andy Roe
Jon Bedford’s Rawmarsh Thorogate team.

Programme for the finals can be downloaded as a PDF here….Programme 2019

Match Report

Bolton Lacewood were hoping to avenge their defeat in last year’s Totty Cup final replay to neighbours, Carrfield.  Rawmarsh Thorogate hadn’t been in a Totty Cup final since 1992.

Totty Cup46.jpg

Lacewood started brightly and took the lead after 5 minutes when Franklin Middleton played Charlie Dickinson through on goal who then showed great composure to place the ball into the bottom corner. Having scored in the previous two rounds and last year’s final, Charlie is proving to be a Totty Cup specialist and he is still only in Year 5!

Lacewood continued to dominate but found it hard to beat the impressive Thorogate keeper, Sam Davis.

Thorogate looked a threat from throws and the Lacewood defence had to stand firm to head out any balls that had been launched into the box.

Shortly before half-time Lacewood increased their advantage.  George switched the ball wide to Connor Fleet who raced through one on one with the keeper and comfortably slotted it into the bottom corner.

Half-time. Lacewood 2-0 Thorogate

Thorogate then got themselves back into the game after Lacewood had dropped off thinking a long throw was coming in. The ball was played short and a superb left footed long-range strike from Lucas Yearsley proved too hard for Ashton to handle and it was game on!

Totty Cup30.jpg

Lacewood’s captain, Franklin Middleton, superbly switched the ball wide which left Bryn Broadbent in acres through on goal with just the keeper to beat. Bryn took a superb touch which set him up nicely to side foot the ball past the keeper to put Lacewood 3-1 up with three minutes to play.

Scoring the winner in the Totty Cup final!
Totty Cup33.jpg

Absolute pandemonium as the full Lacewood team sprinted across to celebrate with the youngster who is only in year 4!

Thorogate instantly replied with a headed goal from Zachary Dearden before the Rawmarsh team could threaten an equaliser.

All photos :  Andy Roe: https://www.andrewroephotos.co.uk/totty-cup

Barnsley Chronicle 19th April 2019


Lacewood 9 Mexborough St. Johns 5
Wath Central 1 Thorogate 2


Wath CE   2  Mexborough St. Johns 4
Lacewood  6  Monkwood 3
Thorogate 4  Thurnscoe Hill 0
Swinton Queen 1  Wath Central 3


Monkwood 6 Fitzwilliam 1
Wath Central 2 Windhill 0

Qualifying matches (in clusters)

Thorogate 4 Monkwood 3
Ashwood 4 St. Josephs 3
Sandhill 5 Rosehill 5
Sandhill 0 Thorogate 6
Monkwood 9 Ashwood 4
Wath CE 5 OLSJ 0
Wath CE 2 Windhill 0
OLSJ 2 Central 3
Central 1 Windhill 0
OLSJ 0 Windhill 2
Mex St Johns 6 Montagu 0
Mex St. Johns 5 New Pastures 0
Mex St. Johns 4 Windhill 0

Qualifying teams:

Wath:  Wath C of E & Wath Central

Rawmarsh: Thorogate &Monkwood

Swinton:  Queen & Fitzwilliam

Dearne:  Lacewood & Thurnscoe Hill

Mexborough: St. Johns & Windhill