2023 Brian Hyde Cup

Rawmarsh St. Josephs 4 Kilnhurst St. Thomas 1

Rawmarsh St. Josephs Catholic School with their first ever Don & Derane trophy

It was ‘All Saints’ with St. Thomas and St Josephs hoping to win the inaugural Brian Hyde Cup at Goldthorpe Welfare. The Kilnhurst team that took the lead after 17 minutes when Jake Davis rocketed a freekick from 25 yards right into the top right hand corner of the net. On the stroke of half time, the prolific Lucy Asher equalised for St. Josephs – tapping in after a scramble.

In the second half St Thomas sat really deep and there was continued pressure from St Joseph which resulted in another goal for Lucy Asher bundled with her midriff from close range. Oliver Francis slotted home a penalty before providing a cross which gave Evan Kalombo a tap in to complete the scoring as St Josephs went marching in.

KST star-player: Jake Davis

Kilnhurst St. Thomas

More photos from this match at https://flic.kr/s/aHBqjAxY89

Please help to keep the Don & Dearne competitions going…

All the photographs on here have a cost.The time of the photgrapher taking them and then after the match, to upload them. We pay the photographers expenses.
We could set up a webpage to charge for these images (and only display publicly watermarked images).
We have chosen not to in the hope that you will consider pre-ordering the TOTTY CUP CENTENARY book which will have a section on the 2023 finals – tinyurl.com/tottycupbook
Or if you have a business, consider paying £30 to have your logo included in the book. tinyurl.com/logototty

Highgate 0 St. Thomas 1
Bronson Marsland’s goal was the difference that saw St. Thomas reach their first Don & Dearne final since 1997. A late free-kick from Highgate’s Leighton Lackenby was arrowing in until Keiren Hardy saved for the Kilnhurst team.
Ref: Steve

Wath Central 2 St. Josephs 5
Lucy Asher’s first half brace set St. Josephs on their way to their first ever Don & Dearne final. Other St. Josephs goals came from Oliver Francis, Onri Smith and Evan Kalombo in a match played at Wath Academy’s astroturf.
Wath Central were battling to stay in the match from 3-0 down and goals from Leo A and Alfie SS kept them in contention. A scramble almost got Central back to 4-3 but a foot injury to Ollie halted the attack.
Ref: John Nicholson


St. Thomas 4 Brookfield 2
An aggregate of …
St Thomas Boys 1 Brookfield Boys 1
St Thomas Girls 3 Brookfield Girls 1
It was a festival of football as the Y5/6 pitch, the boys teams finished level but the St. Thomas girls won more matches than Brookfield Girls. Emily License scored a hat-trick & Ross Mitchell scored one for St. Thomas.
The Y3/4 competition didn’t count towards the Frank Hyde qualifying – This finished St. Thomas Boys 5 Brookfield Boys 0 and St. Thomas Girls 1 Brookfield Girls 1
Frankie Race, Jayce Beckett, Sam Cooke & Sophie Wilson were in the goals for St. Thomas’ promising young ones.

New Pastures 4 Rawmarsh St. Josephs 5
RSJ: Lucy Asher 3; Oliver Smith 2
New Pastures scorers: Ben Morrow 2, Matty Dokovics. Star Player: Ben Morrow
Ref: Mr. Woodward

Wath Central 5 Wath Victoria 1
Wath Academy hosted the local derby in the Brian Hyde Quarter-Final.
Leo Ashton 3, Harry Moorhouse & Alfie Spencer-Smith scored for Central. Victoria’s goal came from Layton Ibbertson although they did have a ‘Frank Lampard type’ of long range effort off the bar at 0-0!
Ref: John Nicholson

Highgate walkover

About the Brian Hyde and why we have introduced the cup in his name: https://tottycup.co.uk/brian-boe-hyde/