Dearne Carrfield 3  Swinton Fitzwilliam 0
Totty Cup Final winners Carrfield.
Goals:  Jimmy Law (2) and Rio Ansu- Gyeabour with the goals.

Bolton Carrfield claimed the Totty Cup for the sixth time in the competition’s history with a 3-0 win over Swinton Fitzwilliam.

Carrfield 2017

A James Law brace and a strike from Rio Ansu-Gyeabour saw Carrfield overcome stubborn resistance from a game Fitzwilliam outfit, who were looking to end their own school’s 15 year wait to get their hands back on the 90-year-old trophy.

Carrfield enjoyed the better of the territory and pressure but struggled for clear opportunities in the final third as Fitzwilliam defended valiantly.

It resulted in numerous shots from distance with lively forward Ansu-Gyeabour in particular, keen to shoot on sight.

When the deadlock was finally broken in the second half, it was Law who grabbed the goal. His long range effort bounce just in front of Fitzwilliam keeper Kaden O’Neill and kicked in.

Law doubled the advantage from close range from a corner.

And Ansu-Gyeabour finally got his reward to wrap up the win, drilling high into the net from just inside the box.

The later stages were lifted by a stunning one-handed save from O’Neill but Carrfield had done enough.

Fitzwilliam in the Totty Cup Final.

Highgate 1  Fitzwilliam 5
Wath C of E 1  Carrfield 3

Quarter Finals
Highgate 2  Wath OLSJ 1
Ashwood Rd 0  Fitzwilliam 7
Kilnhurst 1  Wath C of E 8
Monkwood 2   Carrfield 3

Qualifying Results:  Wath CE 5 Brampton Ellis 0, Lacewood 5 The Hill 1 (Match Report), Carrfield 10 Goldthorpe 0; Carrfield 5 Gooseacre 3;  Wath OLSJ 4 Wath Central 2; Highgate 1 Lacewood 0 (Match report)

Get in touch at….