Mexborough St John’s 4 Rawmarsh Thorogate 2  (aet)

Back Row (L to R): Jonathan Phillips, Craig Poole, Chris Shelton, Jon Rodgers, Alex Szczepkowski, Ryan Scott, Adam Glover
Front Row (L to R): Andrew Durant, Paul Taylor, Jordan Mansell, Daniel Earnshaw, Gavin Wright, Matthew Venables
Credit: Lorraine Taylor

Scorers for MSJ:  Paul Taylor (2), Daniel Earnshaw (2)

Paul Turner

Thorogate:- Mark Green, Gareth Cox, Paul Hart, Martin Burton, Matthew Hamshaw, Matthew Telling, Rowan Knapton, Craig Wright, Dean Neil, Matthew Birkin, Robin Hadfield. Subs Chris Risely Lee Carter.”

Played at Kilnhurst Primary School.


John Dales took 5 teams to Totty Cup finals.  He won it with Thorogate in 1988 and then lost it in 1991 & 1992.  He then lost in 2 further finals with Monkwood:  2004 & 2005 .  John Dales remembers:
“I remember it well. Thorogate we’re losing 1-2. Pulled it back to 2-2 last minute then lost it with 2 sloppy goals in a couple of mad minutes in extra time.”

Fitzwilliam: BACK L-R Tony barret, Ricky Allen, James Metcalf, Jonathan Gray, Alex Brearley, brett Carter, Ashley Jackson, Mr Laird,
FRONT L-R Chris Oates, David Scott, Scott Carter, Lee Terry, Jonahan Batty CREDIT: Giles Brearley

No involved in the final, but Kilnhurst St. Thomas would have played in an earlier round.

If you have anymore information on this final, or previous rounds, please fill in the Contact Form below.

Leave a Reply