Rawmarsh Thorogate 1 Swinton Fitzwilliam 0

Photo of Thorogate Team (thanks to David Hawke).  Teacher is John Dales, who after this, went on to lose in 5 further Totty Cup finals.  David Hawke is the one with the trophy and goal scorer Richard Dowell is on back row next to Mr Dales.

Thorogate: Rob Turnpenny (keeper.) Standing (L to R): James Whitehouse, Mark Hutchinson, Burkinshaw, brasher, Richard Dowell, Mr John Dales Seated (L to R)- Paul Stinson, Gary Wilson , Philip Sykes, David Hawke , ? , Tim Watkinson , Richard Goulty.
Fitzwilliam: Back row L/R Mr Laird Brett Wheeler Phil Hibberd Kevin Addy Andy Horsfield Michael Wheeler Jim Horsfield Front row L/R Andy Fearn Robin Thomas Rob Fletcher Dean Bamforth Mark Terry Kris Wheeler (thanks to Dean Bamforth)

Semi Final:

Mexborough St. Johns 1  Fitzwilliam 2

Also from minutes – “Secretary to write to Brian Hyde to thank him for refereeing the Totty Cup and Barlow-Salmons Finals

In the minutes, it mentions Sacred Heart .v. Wath Central (implying that this was the other semi-final) – which contradicts that Thorogate won the Cup??

John Dales took 5 teams to Totty Cup finals.  He won it with Thorogate in 1988 and then lost it in 1991 & 1992.  He then lost in 2 further finals with Monkwood:  2004 & 2005 .

Kilnhurst St. Thomas. Back Row (L to R): Richard Hardy, Paul Oliver, Shaun Hague, Ian Shore, Glen Cooke, Tony Arrowsmith, Richard Sparks, Brian Laird Front (L to R): Craig Walker, Danny Hudson, James Goodson, Tim Whitehous, Ellis Brookes, Andrew Gillespie, Russell Cousins

No match report found as yet.

If you have anymore information on this final, or previous rounds, please fill in the Contact Form below.

Leave a Reply